About Me

Standard

Hi! Welcome to my blog. :)

About me? I am a sophomore math major, music minor at a women’s college in New England. I’ve created this blog to share my experience as a math major with my family, friends, and WordPress community.

Even though I declared my major over a year ago already, I’m creating this blog now for two reasons:

1) I finally feel like I have something if not important, at least slightly interesting and knowledgable to say. ;) This semester I am taking my first 300-level math, I’m TAing for a calc II class, I’ve competed in my second MCM math modeling contest, I’m finally starting computer science– I’m finally really getting deeper into my math education. I feel like it’s a part of who I am now.

2) I have math-related travel plans that I want to blog about!

I am very excited to be going to the Carleton Summer Math Program (SMP) for a month this summer! It will be my first time farther west than Florida (actually!!), and I will be spending a month learning mathematics and connecting with other sophomore female math majors from across the country. The purpose of the program is to encourage us (more young women) to complete graduate and doctoral studies in mathematics.

Also, I will be studying abroad in the fall. I haven’t made a final decision yet, but I will either be studying in southern England for the semester, or in Hungary with the Budapest Semesters in Mathematics program. I’ve been dreaming about my chance to study abroad since I was in middle school, and I can’t believe it is actually here now. Back then, I thought for sure I would be going to Paris, speaking French, and studying art history. My current plans are far from that early idea, but are just as exciting to me now in college.

I’m not sure exactly how I will use this blog yet, but I hope to post both about my travels this coming year as well as math-related topics that interest me. I truly love mathematics as a discipline, and I want to show people what it is about this subject that is so awesome.

Lego ad from 1981 What it is is beautiful - ImgurThe first thing I want to share with you is this image. My friend posted it to her Facebook profile earlier this year, and I’ve fallen in love with it. It’s a 1981 Lego ad showing a little girl holding her creation with the caption “What it is is beautiful.” Currently, there is a lot of controversy in the media about the genderization of toys (everything for little girls = pink, dolls, makeup, cooking, etc. while everything for little boys = blue, building sets, trucks, etc.). This ad does not depict that extreme genderization. This little girl is playing with a “boy’s” lego set. She’s happy, and she’s proud of what she created. I love her because she reminds me of myself when I was a child playing with Legos.  And she reminds me of myself now, a young woman studying in a “man’s” field–math. But I’m just doing what I love, and I’m excited to have the chance to share that with you.

Comment Below!

