A completely incomprehensive list.

Standard

I leave my home in Bp for my home in the States in three days. (three days!) I’m sad the semester is over.

I made a list of some things–excluding friends and family– that I will miss from here, things that I won’t miss from here, and things that fall into both categories.


What I love about Bp:

Turo Rudi.
The most brilliant snack/dessert every invented. Yet impossible to describe in a way that makes it actually sound appealing.

Turo Rudi even has a CAR! It's that good.

Turo Rudi even has a CAR! It’s that good.

The courtyard in my apartment.

IMG_0159

My courtyard.

Being Surrounded by math majors.
Sometimes I make math jokes by accident and I’m not the only one who thinks they’re funny!

Hungarian.
Some favourite words: cica (kitty), Jó buli. (good party), igen fun (not a real Hungarian phrase!), egészségedre! (cheers!)

Parliament, the Chain Bridge, Gellert Hill lit up at night.

Parliament at night.

Parliament at night.

Espresso.
What is drip coffee but a dilution of deliciousness?

The baths.

Everything cherry (meggyes) flavoured. cherry jam, cherry yogurt, cherry pastry, cherry beer, …

Ruin Bars.
Carrots, anyone?

Travel.
Being able to get to Vienna in three hours.

Vienna.

Vienna.

Grid-ruled A4 paper.
It’s everything I could ever ask for in a sheet of paper!

The Danube & Margit Island.

Forints.
Their colours. Their funny pictures of men, The novelty of carrying thousands and thousands of forint in your wallet. Being able to say “Dude. You owe me some forint.”

The freedom of not knowing what’s going on around you.
Freedom to J-walk like a non-Hungarian. Freedom to look at a stature and make up its story because there is literally literally no way you will ever know. Ever.


Things I miss about home:

Lunchmeat.
Please, please, let me have something that is not a derivative of sausage!

IMG_0713English.
I am tired of not being able to ask for what I need, tired of being laughed at or glared at when I don’t know what someone is saying to me, tired of “speaking” in a mix of *broken English* and charades.

Cell phones.
No more “Meet me on the left side of the statue of John Calvin at 5:53pm, standing directly under his arm. Wear your red Rudolph hat so I can see you. If we don’t find each other by 5:57, then…” (JK. Sort of…)

Not being surrounded by math majors.
See: sometimes I make math jokes… ;)

0.5mm pens.
To go with my A4 paper.

Finding the info you need on the internet.
Information that is online, in English, and actually correct? No way.

Not enough drying rack.

Not enough drying rack.

Dryers.
For nights when I realise I want to wear something that seriously needs washing.

Soup/pasta/bread without sour cream!

Vegetables that are not pickled!
I had no idea that I would miss SALAD. Who misses salad?!

Home. <3

Home for Chsistmas. <3

Comment Below!

